House (open level)


This class is taught by:

Chris Wong

A captivating dancer, choreographer, and director- Chris ‘WOW’ Wong creates stories through movement with his creativity and experience in the entertainment industry.

His dance style blends together elements of hip hop, house, popping, locking, and new style hustle. The list doesn’t end there, as a student of life, he’s always looking to challenge himself and draw inspiration from new material.

He is professionally trained in all foundations of street dance and his training extends across the globe- LA, New York, Tokyo, and Vancouver. His work is currently highlighted in the directing of his street dance company, Culturally Defined.

As a performer, he works with da Costa Talent and has been featured in music videos, tv shows, movies, and concerts. This is his third year selected as one of Georgia Straight’s Top 3 Dancers for his influence in the dance community.


As a competitor, he has won 1st place Wild Card, Highest Score at Artist Emerge 2012 and 1st runner up at World of Dance Vancouver 2012. As a performer you have seen dancing as a principal dancer in Official Winter Olympics 2010 events, music videos by Lynx & Kemo and more. You can find him as a judge at many competitions including Vancouver's Top Dancer, Outbreak, High School High and many more. His training includes Advanced Street Style Lab in New York, Souldiers, TwoFourSeven Dance Company, Debbie Reynolds Studio and Millenium Dance Complex.

House dance is a footwork based movement primarily danced to house music that has roots in the clubs of Chicago and New York. Great for all levels looking to sweat and learn new steps, comfortable footwear and sweatpants is highly recommended! House music arose from the ashes of disco in the mid-80's and began as a relatively small faction of club culture at underground functions. The genre of dance that developed is a stylized footwork oriented movement known as "house dancing". While house dancing is highly reminicent of it's early dance predecessors like swing, lindy hop, jazz and tap, it is a genre of dance infused with Latin American and West African cultural influences.

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Oct 27 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Nov 03 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Nov 10 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Nov 17 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Nov 24 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Dec 01 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Dec 08 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Dec 15 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Dec 22 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Dec 29 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Jan 05 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Jan 12 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Jan 19 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Jan 26 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Feb 02 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Feb 09 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Feb 16 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong
  • Fri Feb 23 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm with Chris Wong


STAY UP TO DATE WITH OUR NEWSLETTER:


Harbour Dance Centre TM 3rd Floor, 927 Granville St., Vancouver, BC Canada V6Z 1L3 | Tel: 604.684.9542 | info@harbourdance.com
Copyright © 2015 All Rights Reserved.  Photos by Ernest Von Rosen

facebook  twitter  instagram  youtube