Theatre Jazz 1/2


This class is taught by:

Jacq Smith

Movement has been an integral part of Jacq's life since she began dancing at the age of 4. She studied numerous styles of dance throughout her life and has had the pleasure of gaining artistic influence from a variety of instructors and studios, allowing her to win numerous scholarships and awards. She trained with the Edmonton School of Ballet's professional program where she was a member of the contemporary company, Edmonton Contemporary Dancers. Jacq has also trained independently in voice, acting, and many other artistic disciplines. She has performed throughout North America alongside companies such as the Alberta Ballet, the IAAF, The Lovers Cabaret, and most recently, 49th Parallel Dance Company. Jacq is consistently expanding her repertoire in the performing arts, recentlyembracing aerial silks and contortion. As a dance educator and choreographer, Jacq has worked across Canada on both large and small-scale productions, and shares her love of dance with everyone she encounters. She lives to create lines on the body and tell stories through her work.
Theatre Jazz class will focus on a theatrical style of dancing that combines the songs of Broadway musicals, from past to present, with the movement of jazz. The class is based on jazz technique layered with Broadway-style and includes warm-up, stretches, across-the floor progressions, and combinations. Emphasis will be placed on connecting with an audience and telling a story. It’s the perfect class for both Broadway enthusiasts and those in the musical theatre world.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Jun 26 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Jul 24 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Jul 31 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with TBA TBA
  • Mon Aug 07 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with TBA TBA
  • Mon Aug 14 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Aug 21 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Aug 28 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Sep 04 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Sep 11 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Sep 18 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Sep 25 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Oct 02 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Oct 09 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Oct 16 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith
  • Mon Oct 23 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Jacq Smith


STAY UP TO DATE! NEWSLETTER SIGN UP:


Harbour Dance Centre TM 3rd Floor, 927 Granville St., Vancouver, BC Canada V6Z 1L3 | Tel: 604.684.9542 | info@harbourdance.com
Copyright © 2015 All Rights Reserved.  Photos by Ernest Von Rosen

facebook  twitter  instagram  youtube