Animation (open level)


This class is taught by:

Mike (BopnGeek) Browne

Mike is a choreographer, performer and a battle technician in the hip hop styles of popping and animation. He began his training in these styles under Luke and Harman aka The Shadow Twins' instruction. Since then, Mike has been dancing with and taking private lessons from some of the world’s best and most influential poppers. Some of which are: Mr Wiggles, BopN Andre, J Rock, J Smooth, Kid Boogie and Popping John. His main focus is creating illusions through technique and body posture and then exploding for a dynamic effect. He is well versed in many styles of popping, animation and locking such as: Robot, Bopping, Scarecrow, Cobra, Toyman, and more.

Achievements:
-Winner of World Of Dance Vancouver 2014 (Popping Category)
-Winner at The Real 2014 (Battle Category)
-Top 4 at King's War 2014 in Los Angeles (Popping Category)
-Rep Award, performing at Represent Dance Comp 2014 with Reid Friedle (Duet Choreography)
-Adjudicator's Choice Award at Artist Emerge 2014 (Solo Choreography)
-Adjudicator's Choice at The Real 2014 (Solo Choreography)
-2nd at One Touch 2014 in Calgary (Popping Category)
-Top 16 out of over 100 at Bust a Move 2014 in Montreal (Popping category)
-Top 4 as battle guest at Nanaimo Battlezone 2014 (Popping Category)
-Judged and Showcased at Greek God and Goddess 2013 (At University of Alberta)
-Top 16 out of over 100 at Last One Stands 2013 (Popping Category)
-Top 4 at Battlezone Vancouver 2013 (All style Category)

animation dance – a sub-category of popping that combines a range of skills like strobing, robotics and gliding, and claims inspiration from film animation in its use of splashy dramatic poses and jerky, freeze-frame dynamic.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Sep 25 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Oct 02 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Oct 09 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Oct 16 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Oct 23 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Oct 30 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Nov 06 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Nov 13 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Nov 20 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Nov 27 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Dec 04 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Dec 11 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Dec 18 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Dec 25 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Jan 08 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Jan 15 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne
  • Mon Jan 22 7:35 pm - 8:35 pm with Mike (BopnGeek) Browne


STAY UP TO DATE WITH OUR NEWSLETTER:


Harbour Dance Centre TM 3rd Floor, 927 Granville St., Vancouver, BC Canada V6Z 1L3 | Tel: 604.684.9542 | info@harbourdance.com
Copyright © 2015 All Rights Reserved.  Photos by Ernest Von Rosen

facebook  twitter  instagram  youtube