Contemporary 1


This class is taught by:

Rianne Švelnis

Rianne is the granddaughter of Eastern European immigrants who now finds herself living as a guest on unceded Coast Salish Territory. She discovered contemporary dance in Ecuador, South America and is using it as a tool for challenging harmful cultural norms and expressing radical body politics. Rianne sees art as a primal language of expression, and a basic human right that we can reclaim as our own to help us tell our stories.

She is co-artistic director of Swamp Theatre, and a Registered Yoga Teacher, and a graduate of the Modus Operandi Contemporary Dance Program. Rianne has danced in works by Kelly McInnes, Layla Marcelle Mrozowski, Justine Chambers, Zahra Shahab, Hailey McCluskey, Anna Kraulis, Damian Criollo-Villacis & collaborated in artistic residency with Areli Moran (Mexico).

Level 1 is Intermediate. We will work on floor work, sequencing through the spine, moving safely in and out of the floor, articulating the joints, inversions and upper body strength, and unorthodox methods of expression using the body and the imagination! Class will consist of improvisations, technique in centre and across the floor, and learning a phrase of choreography in the last half hour.
Pants recommended, knee pads suggested.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Jun 28 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Jul 26 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Aug 02 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Aug 09 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Aug 16 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Aug 23 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Aug 30 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Sep 06 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Sep 13 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Sep 20 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Sep 27 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Oct 04 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Oct 11 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis
  • Wed Oct 18 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Rianne Švelnis


STAY UP TO DATE! NEWSLETTER SIGN UP:


Harbour Dance Centre TM 3rd Floor, 927 Granville St., Vancouver, BC Canada V6Z 1L3 | Tel: 604.684.9542 | info@harbourdance.com
Copyright © 2015 All Rights Reserved.  Photos by Ernest Von Rosen

facebook  twitter  instagram  youtube